KUHN NAMED 2010 HELMS AWARD WINNER



Robert Kuhn, PharmD has been selected as the 2010 recipient of the Helms Award. The award recognizes sustained and meritorious contributions to PPAG and to pediatric pharmacy practice, and contributions of

Robert Kuhn importance to education, new knowledge, and outreach. Dr. Kuhn is currently professor of pharmacy practice and science at The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. He holds a joint appointment as professor in the department of pediatrics and is a pediatric clinical specialist at Kentucky Children's Hospital and serves as Associate director of Pharmacy services. Before joining the faculty in 1985, he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in philosophy from the University of Steubenville (Ohio) and Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from The Ohio State University. His doctor of pharmacy degree was obtained in 1984 from the University of Texas at Austin. He completed a pediatric fellowship at Columbus Children's Hospital in 1985 under the direction of Milap Nahata.

Dr. Kuhn's research and clinical practice has centered on pulmonary drug delivery and drug therapy in patients with cystic fibrosis. He has participated in many clinical trials of new drug therapies for patients with CF over the last 25 years and helped develop and evaluate new therapies for this disease. He has over 60 publications and help organize pharmacists involved in the care of patients with cystic fibrosis. He currently serves as program director of the pediatric pharmacy residency program at UK and he has mentored over 30 specialty residents since joining the faculty. He has served on the Board of PPAG for seven years and served two years as President, as well as Immediate Past President and currently is Vice President for Finance for PPAG. He has received numerous awards including a membership in the National Academies of Practice and the Doug Jones Teaching Award from Dartmouth for his work in cystic fibrosis education.

REED NAME 2010 YAFFE AWARD RECIPIENT



Michael D. Reed, PharmD, has been selected as the 2010 Yaffe Award winner. The award is given in recognition of significant and sustained contributions toward the improvement of children's health through the

Michael D. Reed

pharmacology and therapeutics.

Dr. Reed is Director of the Rebecca D. Considine Clinical Research Institute and the Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron (CHMCA). Dr. Reed is Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine and Pharmacy (NEOUCOM). Dr. Reed received his Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy and post-baccalaureate Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Cincinnati. While obtaining his doctorate he concurrently served a clinical pharmacology residency in pediatrics at the Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati.

Dr. Reed's research interests focus on the developmental pharmacology and toxicology of drugs in humans and how these data translate into the design of optimal dosing regimens for use in infants, children, and adults. He has extensive research experience in the design, implementation, and analysis of pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic and pharmacogenomic interrelationships as they relate to the maturing infant, child and adolescent. Dr. Reed has authored more than 200 published works describing his original research activities, invited reviews and book chapters.

NATIONAL ACADEMIES OF PRACTICE

The National Academies of Practice (NAP) held its Forum on Public Policy and gala on March 20, 2010 in Arlington, VA. During the meeting Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD was installed as chair of the Pharmacy Academy. Dr. Phelps is a professor of clinical pharmacy and

JPPT



pediatrics at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center and is also Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for the College of Pharmacy. Dr. Phelps is currently Editor of the Journal of Pediatric Pharmacology

Stephanie J. Phelps and Therapeutics. The NAP was

founded in 1981 in recognition of the need for inter-disciplinary collaboration in healthcare. It is comprised of distinguished practitioners and scholars from 10 of the primary health professions. Only 150 distinguished members can be elected to a specific academy. Other PPAG members who belong to the academy include Drs. Robert Kunh and Milap Nahata.