PEDIATRIC NEWS

SPECIALTY COUNCIL ON PEDIATRIC PHARMACY

The Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties is pleased to announce the members of the first Specialty Council on Pediatric Pharmacy. They are:

Sandra Benavides Caballero, PharmD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pharmacy Practice, College of Pharmacy, Nova Southeastern University, Clinical Pharmacist in Pediatrics, Children's Medical Services, Department of Health, Fort Lauderdale, FL, Clinical Pharmacist Consultant, Pediatric Emergency Standards, Weston, FL, and Clinical Pharmacist in Pediatrics, Joe DiMaggio Children's Hospital, Hollywood, FL

Kimberley W. Benner, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP, FPPAG, Professor and Vice-chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy, and Pediatric Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Children's of Alabama, Birmingham, AL

Katherine Hammond Chessman, PharmD, FCCP, BCNSP, BCPS, Professor, Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Sciences, and Residency Program Director, Pediatric Pharmacy Practice, South Carolina College of Pharmacy, MUSC campus, and Pediatric Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Pediatric Surgery / Pediatrics, Department of Pharmacy Services, The Children's Hospital of South Carolina, Charleston, SC

Elizabeth A. Farrington, PharmD, FCCM, FCCP, FPPAG, BCPS, Pharmacist III, Pediatrics, New Hanover Regional Medical Center, Betty A. Cameron Women's and Children's Hospital, Wilmington, NC, Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacotherapy, University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Chapel Hill, NC, and Clinical Professor, Campbell University School of Pharmacy, Buies Creek, NC

Rita K. Jew, PharmD, FASHP, Director of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmaceutical Services, Mission Bay, UCSF Medical Center, San Francisco, CA

Robert J. Kuhn, PharmD, FPPAG, Pediatric Clinical Pharmacist, Kentucky Children's Hospital, and Endowed Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, College of Pharmacy, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY

Anne Lesko, PharmD, FPPAG, Senior Clinical Director and Residency Program Director, Division of Pharmacy, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, and Adjunct Associate Professor, Division of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences, James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH

Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP, FAPhA, FPPAG, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and Professor, Clinical Pharmacy and Pediatrics, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center, College of Pharmacy, Memphis, TN

Michael D. Reed, PharmD, FCCP, FCP, Director, Rebecca D. Considine Research Institute, Director, Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Associate Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron, Akron, OH, Professor of Pediatrics, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Rootstown, OH, Adjunct Professor of Pharmacology, Department of Pharmacology, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, OH, and Clinical Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Raabe College of Pharmacy, Ohio Northern University, Ada, OH

PHELPS RECEIVES ACCP AWARD



Dr. Phelps

Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD received the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Education Award at its annual meeting in Albuquerque, New Mexico on October 13. The award recognizes an ACCP member who has made substantial and outstanding

contributions to clinical pharmacy education at either the undergraduate or the postgraduate level. Dr. Phelps is associate dean for academic affairs and professor of clinical pharmacy at the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy as well as professor of pediatrics at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine. Dr. Phelps has served in the elected offices of organizations including AACP, APhA, ASHP, ASPEN and PPAG. She has also served on the editorial boards of several journals and is the Editor-in-Chief of the [The] Journal of Pediatric Pharmacology and

JPPT Ped News

Therapeutics. The textbook on which she serves as lead editor, titled *Guidelines for Administration* of *Intravenous Medications to Pediatric Patients* (known as "The Teddy Bear Book"), is now in its 10th edition.

EVANS NAMED TO BOARD OF PHARMACY SPECIALTIES



Dr. Evans

William E. Evans, PharmD will serve as a Non-Board Certified Pharmacist member of the BPS Board of Directors. Evans is Director and Chief Executive Officer of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. Under his leadership, St. Jude has expanded its

research in drug discovery, cancer survivorship, cancer genomics and personalized medicine. He earned the Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and

Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from the University of Tennessee, where he is Professor at the University of Tennessee Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine. Dr. Evans' research interest includes the pharmacodynamics and pharmacogenomics of anticancer agents in children, and exploring mechanisms underlying differences in drug effects among children. Dr. Evans is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). He is a past president of ACCP and the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science. Dr. Evans served in roles with the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and as a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Cancer Institute (NCI). He has received several national and international awards for his research.